Book Review – Divergent Series

Book: Divergent, Insurgent & Allegiant
Author: Veronica Roth
Series: Divergent
Rating: 4.5 stars, 4.0 stars & 3.0 stars respectively

Divergent-series-by-Veronica-Roth

Blurb:
In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are—and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her.

download

Review:
And so on the story continues. This series has books in addition to the three main books and it about our hero Four (Tobias). The best review I can give here is to write down the letter I wrote to the author after reading all three books.

**SPOILER ALERT** If you haven’t read the books, please do not read below the point that I have highlighted if you don’t want any spoilers.

Here you go.

Dear Ms. Roth,

Finding the Divergent series was a happy discovery for me. When first I had the opportunity to read Divergent I discarded it thinking “oh no not another dystopian story!” But I had the luck to watch a part of the movie and my curiosity was kindled. This fantasy book showed the flaws in the good people and the bad people in a realistic way.

I got down all three books and started reading them Saturday night (09.05.2015). I finished the first book Divergent that night (or should I confess the early hours of Sunday morning.

I got lost in the book from the moment I touched it. I became a part of Dauntless and would often wonder while reading the book, what would I do if I were Tris? what would my fears be? I enjoyed it thoroughly and felt that the movie had not done justice to it.

Then when Tris began falling for Tobias I fell for that boy with the hooked nose along with her.

The next morning, forsaking sleep I pounced on Insurgent. I admired Tris, scolded her for her recklessness and drowned deeper into the world you created. I was envious of her, understood her and shouted instructions at her even though I knew she was fictional and so couldn’t hear me.

I felt she should be more aware of Tobias and understand him more and marvelled at the deep emotions you could arouse in me through words.

Yet, the final blow you delivered me when I thought all was good at the end of Allegiant today (11.05.2015) is both unexpected and devastating. I knew it in my guts that Tris would never send her brother to his death, but this?!

I hate you just a bit or maybe more. Why did you’ve to kill Tris?! Why oh why? When Tobias heard that horrible news my heart shattered (I swear it ached). I couldnt believe it. I wouldn’t! I kept hoping that she would come back. And even while reading the epilogue, even though I knew Tris was in ashes, I kept desperately wanting Tris to be alive, to have a miraculous come back from death and reunite with Tobias on top of the Hancock building.

I couldn’t accept that their love which had gone through so much could end so heart wrenching. Even though you gifted us with a truly wonderful book to enjoy killing Tris just made me never want touch the books again.

How can I enjoy reading Tris and Tobias’ special moments knowing at the end that Tris would die? How can I read it again knowing a painful ending awaits Tobias and me?

I wish you hadn’t killed Tris. Maybe the book stayed in my mind prompting this email because of her death but if there had been a happy ending, trust me even then the book would have been in my heart. I would have thought about the unique relationship they shared where they had their fights and mends. Where I could see that it wasn’t blind or fantasy love they shared but faulty human love beautiful for its faulty nature.

Having someone trust in you, believe you aren’t damaged despite others claiming so and you yourself believe is incredible.

I wish you would go back in time and write a happy ending. I wish I never read that Tris dies.

Thank you for this wonderful series but doesn’t mean I hate you less for killing off Tris or leaving behind this emptiness in me and Tobias in the wake of her death.

So hope that review was good enough and you got an insight of how the book was to me. I really recommend this as a good book to read because it is.

So, happy reading 🙂

7 thoughts on “Book Review – Divergent Series

  1. I actually haven’t read this trilogy yet so I didn’t read beyond the black font. I don’t often do this but I did cave in to watching Divergent last month. I really enjoyed it. I haven’t found many ya dystopian series that have wowed me yet, but I’m hoping this won’t disappoint!

      1. My pleasure. 🙂 And that’s what I’ve been told! A lot of my friends cried in Allegiant, so I’m not looking forward to that emotional rollercoaster. 😛

  2. Good reviews, Suganiya. 🙂 I haven’t read any of the books and probably won’t do at the moment, but I’ve heard a lot about the first one, in particular. I would like to see the movie, though. My daughter saw it and really liked it. You obviously liked that one best, too. 🙂

    1. If you have the time you should read it first and then watch the movie. The movie is good too, but then if you don’t read the book first, you would miss out some stuff. Thank you very much for commenting millie ❤

Drop your thoughts here :) Positive or Negative, all accepted <3

