Book Review – Queen of Shadows

Book: Queen of Shadows
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Series: Thrones of Glass #4
Rating: 4 stars

18006496

Blurb:
Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past . . .

She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

Review:
I was lucky enough to get hold of this book early and I’m thankful for that. To honestly speak, I was expecting more from this book. While in some areas the book did not reach up to my expectation in others the book did a good job. I wanted more action from Manon and something more from Aelin.

faf13d301016aee5c56c5ba99d3516a0

**Spoilers from here**
Love life
My favourite situation in this book is when Rowan appears from nowhere and Aelin runs to hug him. That was soooo… sweet and cute and romantic. But I also felt cheated because it seemed like Rowan and Aelin would only remain as friends in book 3. While a great part of me wished for Rowan to be with Aelin I also didn’t want Chaol to be let gone that easily. Another thing I noticed was that in the first book Sam is referred to as a good friend/best friend, but later on he somehow evolves into her first love. It seemed to me that each book Aelin has a different boyfriend. Well she is a teenager and all that but still it looks to many. I was also disappointed that Rowan lost his hard, rough edge. It was that which made him so much popular in the 3rd book. His stony exterior.

Action
While there was a lot of action in this book it didn’t feel fierce. The reason for that I believe is that the book had softened. I expected more when Aelin and Manon met for the first time. Towards the end of the book even though a goal was accomplished and the plot for book 4 had ended I felt like there was no satisfactory ending.

Good points
I absolutely loved how Aelin saved her cousin. That plan was just so marvelous. The author had really done a good job there. And there are so many questions that were raised at the end of the book that keeps me looking forward for the next installment. Overall the book was compelling to read and even though it was kind of boring sometimes, for the most part it kept me on edge. The plots were unpredicatble, that was a good thing and yeah waiting for book 4 now 🙂

If you have read the book please share your views with me, I would love to hear what you thought about it.
Happy reading Everyone 🙂

7 thoughts on “Book Review – Queen of Shadows

Add yours

  1. Nice review, Suganiya! I only skimmed your review because I haven’t read this series yet or any Maas book for that matter (but I did recently get ACoTAR). I’m glad you liked a lot of the scenes in this though! 🙂

Drop your thoughts here :) Positive or Negative, all accepted <3

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

