Book Review – A Court of Thorns and Roses

Book: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Rating: 3.5 stars

16096824

Blurb:
When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Review:

123

And for two whole weeks I had not touched a book. Feeling sorry for myself over that, I took a fellow blogger’s suggestion and started reading the book. I was not exactly disappointed but the book had the “beauty and the beast” kind of feel. Like reading a fantasy version of a fairy tale.

Well so Tamlin is the hot guy and Feyre the helpless maiden. Typical much?! What annoyed me the most was Feyre’s utter stupidness to make utter stupid decisions. I mean, even after so many people warn her not to do exactly that particular thing, she goes and does it. It annoyed me to hell and back.

Good aspects are Tamlin’s beast form was original and well I will write the rest in the spoilers section. The book had me hooked because I’m a huge fan of “Throne of Glass” minus all that love triangles. So I enjoyed it, and I’m waiting for Book 2 and dreading it at the same time coz I sense a love triangle. Again. Why does Maas do this to all her books? ;( Have I told you guys how much I detest them. The love triangles I mean. Why are they even popular?!

I think all characters should develop especially Feyre and except Rhysand. (Yes, I will come to him later 😉 )

So I hope the book would be more than just a love story. I mean I enjoy romance but since this a fantasy book I want some action or more action. I have lots of negativism towards this book maybe because I’m holding this book towards the “Throne of Glass” series standard. I know that’s a bad thing to do. Maybe that’s why I leave a long gap to read another series of the same author. Anyhow, the book was all over a good read.

And finally, the book didn’t bring huge reactions from me. I mean when I listened to Tamlin’s past I should have shed atleast a tear right, but no I just read it and was like “oh, so that’s what happened”. Emotion lacked.

Spoilers:
The mask thing was a good idea. Along with Feyre it kept me wondering how he looked like. (Call me vain). But Lucien seemed like kinda a weak person ( I don’t wanna use the word coward). Maybe, that’s because we still don’t know of all that he had to go through and his character has to be developed a lot. Maybe that all will happen somewhere in Book 2.

Feyre becomes a fae, that was kinda obvious since she is a mortal and her love Tamlin immortal, but I didn’t expect it to happen in Book 1.

Well Rhysand is obviously the bad brooding person in this love triangle I predict, I mean going to stay in his court for one week every month!!!!

And what was that cliffhanger all about? Rhysand in absolute shock. And since the story of mates came up could it be, could it be that expression of shock was to mean Rhysand realized Feyre as his mate. It was not like Feyre hated the one time Rhysand kissed her.

And the tattoo, did I forget to mention that Feyre has a tattoo from Rhysand and they are connected by it. She can see through Rhysand’s eyes and he know what she is doing, thinking. And what about the fact Rhysand is powerful than Tamlin.

Oh well!

**spoilers over**

Yes, a really short spoiler and yes I would be reading the second book to know what happens. So have you read this book? What do you think of it? Was this review helpful?

Well, Good Day and Happy Reading 🙂

4 thoughts on “Book Review – A Court of Thorns and Roses

  1. A good reviewn Suganiya. I don’t think the book’s for me, but for fantasy lovers it could well prove to be a good read. 🙂 I imagine you’ve been very busy, as you haven’t posted for a while – so I hope things are going well for you. 🙂

      1. Sorry to hear you’ve been ill! And you don’t need to explain about college work, or any other priorities. These things just need dealing with. Talk again soon. 🙂

  2. Lovely and festive theme, Suganiya! And nice review, I’m sorry this didn’t have enough of the action and fantasy elements for you though. Since I haven’t read any ToG books yet hopefully I won’t be bothered by this too much. Anyway, happy reading and blogging! 🙂

Drop your thoughts here :) Positive or Negative, all accepted <3

